Joonas Jämsén

Department of Biochemistry and Food Chemistry, University of Turku

Functional studies on bacterial nucleotide-regulated inorganic pyrophosphatases


Professor Ari Hinkkanen, AI Virtanen Institute, Department of Biotechnolgy and Molecular Medicine, University of Eastern Finland, Kuopio, Finland

Professor Simo Laakso, Department of Biotechnology and Chemical Tehnology, Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland


Professor Markku Kulomaa, Institute of Biomedical Technology (IBT), University of Tampere, Tampere, Finland


Professor Reijo Lahti, Department of Biochemistry and Food Chemistry, University of Turku


  1. Jämsen J, Tuominen H, Salminen A, Belogurov GA, Magretova NN, Baykov AA, Lahti R. (2007) A CBS domain-containing pyrophosphatase of Moorella thermoacetica is regulated by adenine nucleotides. Biochem J. Dec 15;408(3):327-33
  2. Jämsen J, Baykov AA, Lahti R. (2010) Nucleotide- and substrate-induced conformational transitions in the CBS domain-containing pyrophosphatase of Moorella thermoacetica. Biochemistry. 2010 Feb 9;49(5):1005-13.
  3. Tuominen H, Salminen A, Oksanen E, Jämsen J, Heikkilä O, Lehtiö L, Magretova NN, Goldman A, Baykov AA, Lahti R. (2010) Crystal structures of the CBS and DRTGG domains of the regulatory region of Clostridiumperfringens pyrophosphatase complexed with the inhibitor, AMP, and activator, diadenosine tetraphosphate. J Mol Biol. May 7;398(3):400-13.
  4. Jämsen J, Tuominen H, Baykov AA, Lahti R. (2011) Mutational analysis of residues in the regulatory CBS domains of Moorella thermoacetica pyrophosphatase corresponding to disease-related residues of human proteins. Biochem J. 2011 Jan 14;433(3):497-504.
  5. Jämsén J, Baykov AA, lahti R. (2011) The CBS-domain containing pyrophosphatase of Clostridium perfringens: novel subtrate and regulator specificities (Manuscript)