Jesper S. Øemig

Institute of Biotechnolgy and Department of Biosciences, Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences, University of Helsinki

Structural studies on inteins


Professor Ilkka Kilpeläinen, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, University of Helsinki

Professor Rikkert W. Wierenga, Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Science, University of Oulu


Professor Christian Griesinger, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany


Professor Kari Keinänen, Faculty of Biological and Environmental Sciences, Department of Bioscience, University of Helsinki


  1. Heinämäki, K*, Oeemig, JS*, Djupsjöbacka, J, Iwaï, H. (2009)NMR resonance assignment of DnaE intein from Nostoc punctiforme. Biomol. NMR Assign. 3, 41-43.
  2. Oeemig, JS*, Aranko, AS*, Djupsjöbacka, J, Heinämäki, K, Iwaï, H. (2009) NMR solution structure of DnaE intein from Nostoc punctiforme: Structural basis for the design of a new split intein suitable for site-specific chemical modification. FEBS lett. 583, 1451-1456.
  3. Lyskowski, A*, Oeemig, JS*, Jaakkonen, A, Rommi, K, DiMaio, K, Zhou, D, Kajander, T, Baker, D, Wlodawer, A., Goldman, A., and Iwaï, H. (2011) Cloning, expression, purification, crystallization and preliminary X-ray diffraction data of Pyrococcus horikoshii RadA intein. Acta Cryst. F67, 623-626.
  4. Oeemig, JS, Zhou, D, Kajander, T, Wlodawer, A, Iwaï, H. (2012) NMR and crystal structures of the Pyrococcus horikoshii RadA intein guide a strategy for engineering a highly efficient and promiscuous intein. J. Mol. Biol. 421, 85-99.
* Equal contribution.