Heidi Tuominen

Department of Biochemistry and Food Chemistry, University of Turku

The structural basis for inorganic pyrophosphatase catalysis and regulation


Professor Aurelio Serrano, Ph.D., Institute of Plant Biochemistry and Photosynthesis, University of Sevilla, Spain

Kristian Koski, Ph.D., Department of Biochemistry and Biocenter Oulu, University of Oulu, Oulu


Adjunct Professor Tiina Salminen, Department of Biosciences, Åbo Akademi University, Turku


Professor Reijo Lahti, Department of Biochemistry and Food Chemistry, University of Turku


  1. Oksanen E, Ahonen AK, Tuominen H, Tuominen V, Lahti R, Goldman A, Heikinheimo P. (2007) A complete structural description of the catalytic cycle of yeast pyrophosphatase. Biochemistry. Feb 6;46(5):1228-39.
  2. Jämsen J, Tuominen H, Salminen A, Belogurov GA, Magretova NN, Baykov AA, Lahti R. (2007). A CBS domain-containing pyrophosphatase of Moorella thermoacetica is regulated by adenine nucleotides. Biochem J. Dec 15;408(3):327-33.
  3. Tuominen H, Salminen A, Oksanen E, Jämsén J, Heikkilä O, Lehtiö L, Magretova NN, Goldman A, Baykov AA, Lahti R. (2010) Crystal structures of the CBS and DRTGG domains of the regulatory region of Clostridium perfringens pyrophosphatase complexed with the inhibitor, AMP, and activator, dioadenosine tetraphospate. J. Mol Biol. 398: 400-413
  4. Jämsen J, Tuominen H, Baykov AA, Lahti R. (2011) Mutational analysis of residues in the regulatory CBS domains of Moorella thermoacetica pyrophosphatase corresponding to disease-related residues of human proteins. Biochem J. Jan 14;433(3):497-504.