logoJohan Gadolin Process Chemistry Centre - PCC


at Åbo Akademi University

PCC Distinguished Lecturers

The Åbo Akademi Process Chemistry Centre arranges a series of lectures by Distinguished Lecturers from all over the world. The most recent lecturers:

  • February 15,2018: David Crich, Research Director at CNRS, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI, USA: "Shaping Next Generation Aminoglycoside Antibiotics for Treatment of Multidrug-Resistant Diseases"
  • June 1, 2017: Alain Walcarius, Research Director at CNRS, Director of the Laboratory of Physical Chemistry and Microbiology for the Environment (LCPME), Head of the "Analytical Chemistry and Electrochemistry" (ELAN): "Electrogeneration of nanostructured and functionalized silica films"
  • May 9, 2017: Prof. Dermot Diamond, National Centre for Sensor Research, School of Chemical Sciences, Dublin City University, Dublin 9, Ireland: "Long-Term Autonomous Biochemical Sensing in Remote Locations: From Broken Promises to a New Beginning?"
  • February 13, 2017: Prof. Thomas Rosenau, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, BOKU, Vienna, Austria: "Celluloses I and II – some news from an old polymer"
  • May 31, 2016, Prof. Ilkka Turunen, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland: "What is process intensification?"
  • March 14, 2016: Prof. JunYong (J.Y.) Zhu . Fulbright - Distinguished Chair, Aalto University; US Forest Service R&D, Forest Products Laboratory, Madison; Dept. of Biological Systems Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison: "Recent Progress in Woody Biomass Conversion to Biofuel and Cellulose Nanomaterials”
  • November 11, 2015: Prof. Thomas Rosenau, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, BOKU, Vienna, Austria: "Insights into the molecular mechanisms of cellulose swelling, dissolution and regeneration"
  • October 6, 2015: Academy Prof. Olli Ikkala, Aalto University, Finland: “Functional Glycomaterials Based on Dendronic, Supramolecular and Nanocellulosic Motifs”
  • March 9, 2015: Prof. Katsuaki Konishi, Hokkaido University, Japan: “Uniqueness of Tiny Metal Objects beyond Nano: Not Just with the Sizes”
  • December 19, 2014: Prof. Michele Maggini, University of Padua, Italy: ”Recent developments in flow chemistry”
  • September 19, 2014: Prof. Jaap Schouten, TU Eindhoven, the Netherlands: ”Process intensification with new reactors”
  • October 11, 2013: Prof. Roland De Marco, University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia:“New Horizons for Solid Contact Polymeric Ion-Selective Electrodes"
  • October 1, 2013: Prof. Richard G Compton, Oxford University, United Kingdom: "Electrochemical Studies of Nanoparticles"
  • December 4, 2012: Prof. Richard K. Brow, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA: "Corrosion of Specialty Glasses"
  • October 12, 2012: Prof. Chris Hardacre, Queen's University Belfast, Northern Ireland: "Designing Catalysts for Low Pressure and Temperature Acid and Amide Formation
  • October 4, 2012: Prof. Emil Paleček, Institute of Biophysics, Czech Academy of Science, Czech Republic: "Electrochemical Sensing of Biomacromolecules"
  • Prof. Fritz Scholz, Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universität Greifswald, Germany (June 2012)
  • Prof. Arkady A. Karyakin, M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia (March 2012)
  • Dr. Alan W. Rudie, US Forest Service, Forest Products Laboratory, USA (December 2011)
  • Prof. Gordon G. Wallace, Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science, Australia (May 2011)
  • Assoc. Prof. Harry Brumer, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Sweden (December 2010)
  • Prof. Dage Sundholm, University of Helsinki, Finland (December 2010)
  • Prof. John Villadsen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark (November 2010)
  • Prof. Adam Pron, Laboratoire d'Electronique Moléculaire Organique et Hybride, France (October 2010)
  • Prof. Tadashi Kokubo, Chubu University, Japan (September 2010)
  • Prof. Andrzej Stankiewicz, Delft Research Center for Sustainable Industrial Processes, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands (August 2010)
  • Prof. James W. Frederick, Golden, USA (June 2010)
  • Prof. Galip Akay, Newcastle University, UK (June 2010)
  • Prof. Miron Landau, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Beer-Sheva, Israel (April 2010)
  • Prof. Rüdiger Lange, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany (March 2010)