The Finnish Summer School on Probability Theory and Statistics

Front page


Participating departments and institutions

Board and contact information

Doctoral programme advisors

Doctoral students


Past events

Summer School on Probability Theory

Academy of Finland

The 34th Finnish Summer School on Probability Theory and Statistics, June 4th--8th, 2012

The 34th Finnish Summer School on Probability Theory and Statistics will be arranged at Päivölän Kansanopisto from June 4th to June 8th, 2012. The school is arranged by The Finnish Doctoral Programme in Stochastics and Statistics.

The program is made up of three series of lectures by invited speakers, exercise sessions and a few shorter talks by the students of FDPSS.

The summer school begins on Monday June 4th at 12 noon with lunch and ends on Friday June 8th around 1 p.m.

Registrations are due by May 20th 2012. The course fee (20 €) is to be paid on location.


Follow the link for the program. There might be minor changes in the program.

Lectures (6h):

Presentations (20min):

  • Paul Catani (Hanken School of Economics): Wild Bootstrap Tests for Autocorrelation in Vector Autoregressive Models, Abstract
  • Mikko Kuronen (University of Jyväskylä): Hard-core thinnings of germ-grain models with power-law grain sizes, Abstract
  • Ilkka Launonen (University of Oulu): Posterior SSA, Abstract
  • Tijana Levajkovic (University of Belgrade): Nonhomogeneous first order linear Malliavin type differential equation, Abstract
  • Tuomas Rajala (University of Jyväskylä): Bayesian analysis of a Gibbs hard-core point pattern model with varying repulsion range, Abstract
  • Lauri Viitasaari (Aalto University): Rate of convergence for discretization of integrals with respect to Fractional Brownian motion, Abstract
  • Adil Yazigi (University of Vaasa): Generalized Gaussian Bridges, Abstract
  • Juha Ylinen (University of Jyväskylä): BMO-estimates for BSDEs, Abstract

Päivölän Kansanopisto

The venue Päivölän Kansanopisto is located at Sääksmäki, Valkeakoski, which is in between Hämeenlinna (30 km) and Tampere (40 km). The closest railway station is at Toijala, which is 9 km from the venue. A transportation from the railway station will be arranged for the participants who arrive on Monday before 11:30.

Organizing Committee

  • Dario Gasbarra
  • Lasse Leskelä
  • Ari-Pekka Perkkiö
  • Mikko Sillanpää
  • Tommi Sottinen

Welcome to Päivölä!

Contact information:

  • Ari-Pekka Perkkiö (Coordinator of FDPSS)
  • E-mail: ari-pekka.perkkio at
  • Postal address: Aalto University, Institute of Mathematics, P.O. Box 11100, FI-00076 Aalto, Finland
  • Telephone: +358 9 470 25863