Konferenser - Conferences

The fourth symposium of the International Ludwig Wittgenstein Society
The fourth symposium of the Nordic Wittgenstein Society

The Contemporary Significance of Ordinary Language Philosophy

May 24-25, 2013
Åbo Akademi University, Turku, Finland


Plenary speakers: Avner Baz (Tufts University), James Conant (University of Chicago), Martin Gustafsson (Åbo Akademi University), Nathaniel Hansen (University of Reading), Don S. Levi (University of Oregon), Felix Mühlhölzer (University of Göttingen), Sally Parker Ryan (Florida).

In recent years, there has been a revival of interest in the main representatives of the so-called ordinary language tradition in 20th century analytic philosophy. The overall aim of the conference is to contribute to this revival of interest, by considering how the works of thinkers in this tradition might be still be relevant, and how careful investigations of ordinary language use can matter to issues at the top of today’s philosophical agenda. In this connection, it will be important to take into account the many differences in philosophical outlook and methodology that exist between philosophers such as Wittgenstein, Austin, Ryle, Strawson and so on. The question of how deep these differences go, and, indeed, whether we can talk of an ordinary language “tradition” here at all, should lead us to consider the character of the contemporary revival mentioned above. To what extent can this revival usefully be described as a unified movement motivated by a common dissatisfaction with more mainstream forms of analytic philosophy? And to what extent do the differences between the various contemporary attempts at revival make such a description misleading?

Submitting an abstract for a workshop presentation (30 minutes):
Abstracts at a maximum length of 400 words should be submitted as word or pdf documents no later than February 18, to: martin.gustafsson@abo.fi. Make sure to state your name and affiliation clearly on the abstract. Information about which abstracts have been accepted will be sent out no later than March 4.