Finland and Åbo Akademi University

1.1 Fast facts about Finland

Population: 5.4 million

Area: 338,424 km² (the fifth-largest country in Western Europe)

Capital: Helsinki (1.25 million inhabitants in metropolitan area)

Languages: Official languages are Finnish (spoken by 91%) and Swedish (5.4%). Sámi is an official regional language and the mother tongue of about 1,700 people, members of the indigenous Sámi people of northern Lapland

Form of government: Republic, parliamentary democracy

Head of State: President of the Republic, currently Mr Sauli Niinistö

International cooperation: Member of the United Nations since 1955 and the European Union since 1995

Currency unit: Euro

Climate: Great contrasts – cold winters and fairly warm summers (2014 extremes: coldest day in Kevajärvi -40,7 C/-41,3 F, warmest day in Pori 32,8 C/91 F)

1.2 Åbo Akademi University

Åbo Akademi University is the only multidisciplinary Swedish-language university in Finland. The university was founded in 1918 in order to provide higher education for the Swedish-speaking minority in Finland. The main language of teaching and administration is Swedish, but an increasing number of courses are taught in English. Åbo Akademi University has a strong international profile. Out of our total student population (7 000 students) about 1 000 students are international students and out of these some 300 are international exchange students. Åbo Akademi University is one of the most international universities in Finland when looking at the student population and we are happy to be able to offer an international environment for both our international and our domestic students.

Åbo Akademi University has been going through a structural reform. Since 1.1.2015 the university is divided into four faculties:

- Faculty of Arts, Psychology and Theology
- Faculty of Education and Welfare Studies (located in Vasa)
- Faculty of Social Sciences, Business and Economics
- Faculty of Science and Engineering

For more information about this reform, please see <u>http://www.abo.fi/personal/en/framtid_2013</u>.

Åbo Akademi University has two main campuses, Åbo/Turku and Vasa/Vaasa, as well as two smaller campuses in Jakobstad/Pietarsaari and Helsingfors/Helsinki.